Thursday, November 17, 2016

3rd Annual Trophées de l'Art Culinaire du Monde Créole Award Ceremony - Trophy Winners

Last week, I presented details about the ambassadors inducted by the Academy of Culinary Art for the Creole World for outreach to countries around the world with the intent to safeguard, promote, and transmit Creole culinary culture and savoir-faire. Today, I'm presenting the award winners!

Trophées de l’Art Culinaire Créole award

Sixteen prizes were awarded in front of a crowd of ~300 persons. (This is twice the number of prizes awarded in 2015!) The winners were:

Trophée Entrepreneurs (Entrepreneur Trophy): for those who respect Creole culinary traditions and promote them through their preparation of traditional or modern, innovative dishes

For traditional cuisine - Stéphane Sorbon

For innovative, modern cuisine - Nathanaël Ducteil

Left: Presenter Isabelle Tulle and Stéphane Sorbon
Right: Nathanaël Ducteil
© Discover Paris!

Trophée “Avenir” (“Future” Trophy): for a young culinary professional who particularly distinguished himself or herself over the course of the last 1-2 years

Yannis Artigny

Trophée Chef Créole de l'Année (Creole Chef of the Year): for commitment and talent in the promotion of Creole gastronomy

Béatrice Fabignon

Left: Miss Nappy 2016 (Aurélye Dangeles) and Yannis Artigny
Right: Béatrice Fabignon and Xavier-Guillaume Sivager
© Discover Paris!

Trophée Littérature Gastronomique (Gastronomic Literature Trophy): for persons who contribute to the promotion of Créole cuisine through literary works

Nadege Fleurimond

Nadege is an American of Haitian origin. She won this award for having written the book Haiti Uncovered. One of the three Americans to be included in the award ceremony, she was not able to be present to accept her award in person.

Nadege Fleurimond
Image courtesy of Nadege Fleurimond

Trophée Innovation Economique (Economic Innovation Prize): for persons that the jury wishes to honor (students, researchers, farmers, restaurant owners ...) for innovative work which is economic in nature

Christophe Luijer for Jus de Canne SO'KANNA (bottled, pressed sugar cane juice)

Trophée Meilleur Blog Culinaire (Best Culinary Blog): for the best of the Web in the dissemination of Creole gastronomic information

Leslie Belliot for Je Cuisine Créole

Christophe Luijer (center left)
Leslie Belliot (center right)
© Discover Paris!

Trophée d’Honneur (Trophy of Honor): for persons (whether culinary professionals or not) who demystify and passionately promote the recognition of Creole cuisine (three awards were given this year)

Janick Ancete for La Bonne Crêpe Martiniquaise

Isabelle Avril for Karaib'Confiseries

Elodie Donardim accepted the award for Leslie Ferraty, founder of Beyond the Beach

Left: Janick Ancete and Mariama Jones
Center: Aurélye Danglades, Isabelle Avril, Mariama Jones
Right: Elodie Donardim
Winner of the Trophée Avenir
© Discover Paris!

Trophée Chef Traiteur Créole de l'Année (Creole Caterer of the Year): for the person who, through his or her catering activity, puts Creole gastronomy at the heart of events that do not have a Creole theme

Jean-Marc Floro

Prix Spécial du Jury (Jury's Special Prize): for a person that the jury wishes to particularly honor

Doris Kazi

Jean-Marc Floro and Doris Kazi
Winner of the Trophée Avenir
© Discover Paris!

Grand Prix de l'Académie de l’Art Culinaire Créole (Grand Prize for Creole Culinary Art): for a person, institution, or geographical entity (city, region…) that has particular distinction in the domain of culinary culture

Robert Pellegatta for Hôtel French Coco (Martinique)

Left to right: Stéphane Gaboreau, Aurélye Danglades,
Robert Pellegatta, Mariama Jones
© Discover Paris!

Trophée Excellence Créole (Trophy for Creole Excellence): for a person who has distinguished himself / herself in the field of gastronomy throughout his / her career

Jessica B. Harris

Left to right: Nicole Etienne, Aurélye Danglades,
Jessica B. Harris, Mariama Jones
© Discover Paris!

Trophée du Mérite Créole (Trophy for Creole Merit): rewards services rendered in the name of Creole gastronomy

Association des Cuisinières de Guadeloupe - 100 ans (Guadeloupan Cooks Association - 100 years of existence)

MC Rony Théophile and the Cuisinières de la Guadeloupe
© Discover Paris!

Jessica B. Harris is a longtime member of this organization.

At the end of the evening, all the laureates and ambassadors returned to the stage for photos.

Ambassadors and trophy winners
© Discover Paris!

Chef Jérôme Bertin took his place at the front of the stage for a photo with the group.

Chef Jérôme Bertin
© L'Académie de l'Art Culinaire du Monde Créole

Dessert was served and the evening ended with much laughter and camaraderie.

Medley of chocolate desserts with banana
© Outremers 360

Panna cotta with sweet potato coulis and cocoa bits
© Outremers 360

Looking forward to next year's award ceremony!


Entrée to Black Paris!™ is a Discover Paris! blog.

If you like this posting, share it with your friends by using one of the social media links below!

No comments: